129Xe MRI Clinical Trials Consortium

Consortium Overview

The 129Xe MRI Clinical Trials Consortium (Xe MRI CTC) consists of Clinical Research Centers with established 129Xe in-vivo MRI capabilities and independent INDs (or equivalent) within North America and the United Kingdom. We envision multi-site studies with a centralized Clinical and Data Coordinating Center (CDCC) that can facilitate site monitoring, central IRB where necessary, and blinded scoring and data banking for future retrospective studies. We envision future cooperative partners from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and/or the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), United Kingdom, in addition to private corporations and foundations.


Xe Consortium sites are located at the following institutions (alphabetized by location): 


  1. Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center (CCHMC) and the University of Cincinnati (UC), Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Jason C Woods, PhD, MD, Zackary Cleveland, PhD, Laura Walkup PhD, Frank McCormack, MD, Raouf Amin, MD, Bruce Trapnell MD, Theresa Guilbert, MD
  2. Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina, USA
    Bastiaan Driehuys, PhD, Loretta Que, MD, Robert Tighe MD, and Tony Huang, MD
  3. McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Sarah Svenningsen, PhD
  4. Robarts Research Institute and Western University, London, Ontario
    Grace Parraga, PhD and David McCormack, MD
  5. SickKids Hospital and University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Giles Santyr, PhD, Felix Ratjen, MD PhD, Padmaja Subbarao MD
  6. University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA
    Sean Fain, PhD
  7. University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS, USA
    Peter Niedbalski, PhD, Chase Hall, MD, Mario Castro MD
  8. University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Talissa Altes MD and Robert Thomen, PhD
  9. University of Sheffield, Sheffield, United Kingdom
    Jim Wild, PhD, and David Kiely, MD, 
  10. University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    John Mugler, PhD, Y. Michael Shim, MD, Jaime Mata, PhD, Deborah Froh, MD, Alan Ropp, MD, and Gerry Teague, MD
  11. University of Wisconsin, Madison Wisconsin, USA
    Michael Rock, MD, Scott Nagle, MD PhD, Ron Sorkness PhD, Loren Denlinger, MD PhD
  12. University of British Columbia / BC Children’s Hospital, Vancouver, Canada
    Jonathan Rayment, MD PhD, Rachel Eddy PhD

Annual Meeting Information